I know, I know, it seems like I’ve been talking about anything but books on Two for Tuesday (brainchild of the evil waynelord Kate Hart) but this week is…

Absolutely no different. I could post something insightful about writing a book or trying to get published but, instead, I’m going to Two for Tuesday my favorite two episodes from each season of Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

Season One

“Witch”: One of the things I love about the first season is how deliciously fun and campy it can be. Don’t get me wrong,”Prophecy Girl” is all well and good but it can’t hold a candle to Buffy as a wobbly cheerleader. The witch episode recalls some of the fun of the movie and that’s why I love it.


“The Pack”
: I don’t usually find Xander all that sexy. Except in the scene above. Plus there’s the whole getting possessed by a hyena and Willow showing some nice backbone.

Season Two

“Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered”
: Yup, it’s another funny episode for me. Xander bewitches the entire (well, almost entire) female population including Drusilla? What’s not to love about that?



“Becoming: Part 2”
: Ah, it’s the episode so sad that it made the mutant enemy zombie ask for a hug. Plus, the song choice at the end (“Full of Grace”) was perfect.

Season Three

I have a severe aversion to Faith. No faith-filled episodes on my list.

“Band Candy”: Giles. Joyce. Hood of a police car. Any questions?
“Doppelgangland”: Evil vamp Willow! Epic Giles hug! CAMEO BY K’S CHOICE!!!

Season Four

Now it’s getting tough. I hate Adam, but Season Four was full of amazing episodes.

“Wild at Heart”
: You knew I’d have at least one Oz-focused episode on my list. Wild at Heart is just so sad.
“Hush”: Oh how this episode deserved its Emmy. An episode where most of the cast can’t speak for most of the running time? Only Joss could pull that off.

Honorable mentions: “Beer Bad” and “Something Blue”

Season Five

“Family”: Tara is one of my favorite characters and this episode is darned near perfect on all levels.
“The Body”: Oh gads. If you watch Buffy, you know what this episode is on the list. Warning: the clip below is a tear-jerker.

Season Six and Seven

What do you mean seasons six and seven? Buffy never jumped the shark. It ended after five nearly perfect seasons. La la la. I’m in denial-land and can’t hear you.

