It’s Two for Tuesday. Brainchild of the ever fab Kate Hart, it’s where you post two of anything:book reviews, pictures, quotes, poems, songs, videos, rants, shout outs, whatever floats your boat. Just connect them somehow. That’s it.

So my Two for Tuesday: Video games.

And it’s pretty easy because, while there are a bunch of video games that I like, there are only two that I really, really love. And both are completely twisted.

Not twisted as in sick (although I suppose the second game on my list might be considered a bit), but twisted as in something that’s familiar but which has been bent and shaken into something new. I’ve always been a sucker for re-tellings and mash-ups so I guess it’s completely logical that I’d fall hardest for these two game.

Kingdom Hearts (I prefer KH-I but KH-II is also pretty darn cool) mashes Final Fantasy with classic Disney characters and settings. The first Kingdom Hearts game is actually the reason I finally bought a Playstation. Squaresoft probably could have just banked on the Disney name and coasted but they made a game which is as well thought out and fully realized as any of the Final Fantasy titles.

American McGee’s Alice was one of those games that I just had to have as soon as I saw it in a store. Alice in an insane asylum? Toys as weapons? A Cheshire cat that looks like he’d attack you at any minute? Who could resist that?

