Confession #1: I am working on a YA dystopian with some post-apoc flavour.

Confession #2: I did not want to do this.

Confession #3:
I’ve been training for this for 20 years.

A few months ago, I had an idea for a dystopian. I quickly shoved it into a box and buried it the back of my mind. I had already gone through the angst of querying one project in a saturated genre and I figured that dystopian would be yesterday’s news by the time I had a book ready to query.
But I really liked the idea. I’d think about it on long walks and on rainy days and I’d find myself writing query hooks in the shower. And then an agent I was chatting with mentioned the magic words: I think there could still be a market for this when you finish.
Bam! Off like a shot. I threw myself into world-building with a vengeance. I went for long walks in the creepy industrial part of town. I visited the museum for inspiration. Once I decided to go in, I didn’t just dip a toe—I dove headlong (and hoped the water wasn’t too shallow).
I know what you’re probably thinking: She’s just another hopeful YA writer trying to jump on the next big thing.
Not quite.
I loved dystopian and post-apocalyptic fiction long before it was trendy (again). At 12, I had already seen Logan’s Run, Soylent Green, and The Omega Man. By 13, I had read Stephen King’s The Stand (five times, as a matter of fact). By 19, I’d added 1984 and The Handmaid’s Tale to my bookshelves and The Stepford Wives to my list of favourite movies (Stepford Wives is a stretch, admittedly, but I think you could make an argument for it). When I had a retail job at the mall, I’d spend my lunch break in the food court imaging a Dawn of the Dead scenario where the survivors of a cataclysmic disaster formed a new society in the wreck of a shopping mall.
You get the picture. I’m a geek.
But I’m a geek who has (unknowingly, admittedly) armed herself to wrestle with her stab at dystopian fiction. It’s the end of the world as we know it and I really do feel fine.

