1. I once tried to read the novelization of  The Goodbye Girl because I was amused that such a thing existed. I made it to page twenty-three.
  2. I owned all six Anne of Green Gables books before I could read (yes, I am Canadian).
  3. The first Douglas Adams book I read was The Long Dark Tea-Time of the Soul. I was in the eighth grade.
  4. The first book to ever send chills down my spine was Christina’s Ghost by Betty Ren Wright.
  5. I waited in line at midnight for Breaking Dawn. The only other adults were all supervising giggling teenage girls. I told myself I was only there to research a phenomena.  I lied. I wanted the damned book.
  6. I was the only one of my friends to have a “book allowance”.
  7. I owned (and filled out) The Anne Rice Trivia Book when I was in high school.
  8. I always feel vaguely guilty about not reading more non-fiction.
  9. I buy far more books than I’ll ever read.
  10. I sort of love the fact that J.R.R. Tolkien and C.S. Lewis were friends.
