So yesterday’s road trip was far to fun to just restrict to YA. For those just catching up, I’m listing a few of my favorite scenes of affection in adult novels.

Two this time, as well: Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason by Helen Fielding, and Circle of Friends by Maeve Binchy. Not coincidentally, these are two of my favorite books. Like yesterday, excerpts may contain spoilers.

First up, some Darcy love!

Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason

When we got up to his bedroom noticed a little pile of books beside his bed. “What are these?” I said, not believing my eyes. “How to Love and Lose but Keep Your Self-Esteem? How to Win Back the Woman You Love? What Women Want? Mars and Venus on a Date?”

“Oh,” he said sheepishly.

“You bastard!” I said. “I threw all mine away.” Fistfight broke out again, then one thing led to another…

Throughout the book, Mark makes it clear just how little he thinks of self-help books and Bridget’s religious-like devotion to them. That’s why it’s so incredibly sweet, funny, and sexy that he resorts to reading a whole stash of them in his desire to get Bridget back.

Circle of Friends

‘Fonsie should be canonized,” Benny said to Clodagh.

‘Yes, I can see his statue in all the churches. Maybe they’d even make this a special place of pilgrimage for him. We’d outsell Lourdes.’

‘I mean it’ Benny said.

‘Don’t you think I don’t know?’ A rare look of softness came into Clodagh’s face.

My two favorite characters in Circle of Friends are Clodagh and Fonsie. Trendsetters and misfits with good natures. Clodagh is so tough and stoic that the affection she shows towards Fonsie with that one line tugs at my heart.

