Over at My Sphere of Domesticity, Kate posted a list of her top forty books (an idea from Corrine Jackon). Her list was a wee bit more high tech than mine and used the ratings she bestowed on Goodreads. I’m not nearly so thorough (and I’ve only entered about a quarter of my books into Goodreads). These are not in order. Some of these were chosen more for their significance at a specific time in my life (yes, I was one of those Lestat obsessed 15 year-olds girls who wrote bad vamp fiction) than for my curent affections. These may not even be my real top forty. I gave myself 7 minutes to puzzle it over.

  1. Life, the Universe and Everything, Doug Adams
  2. The Mirror of Her Dreams/A Man Rides Through, Stephen R. Donaldson
  3. Good Omens – Terry Pratchett & Neil Gaiman
  4. The Long Dark Tea-Time of the Soul, Douglas Adams
  5. Someplace to be Flying, Charles De Lint
  6. The Princess Bride, William Goldman
  7. Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason, Helen Fielding
  8. About a Boy, Nick Hornby
  9. The Road, Cormac McCarthy
  10. I’m Perfect, You’re Doomed: Tales of a Jehovah’s Witness Upbringing, Kyria Abrahams
  11. Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil, John Berendt
  12. Jane Eyre, Charlotte Bronte
  13. Owly Volume 2: Just a Little Blue, Andy Runton
  14. Looking for Alaska, John Green
  15. The Blue Girl, Charles De Lint
  16. Microserfs, Douglas Coupland
  17. The Paper Bag Princess, Robert Munsch
  18. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, JKR
  19. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. JKR
  20. The Vampire Lestat – Anne Rice
  21. The Tale of the Body Thief, Anne Rice
  22. Circle of Friends, Maeve Binchy
  23. Stardust, Neil Gaiman

And my seven minutes are up.

